The European Association of Neurosurgical Societies (EANS) is an independent, supranational association of national European neurosurgical societies and individual members which arranges congresses, scientific meetings and symposia, including the biennial European Congress of Neurosurgery, the Annual EANS Meetings (formerly Vice-President Winter Meetings) and the European Training courses.

The legislative body of the EANS is its Open Executive Committee which consists of representatives from national member societies and individual members. The Open Executive Committee meets at least annually and further extraordinary meetings of the Committee can be called. The Board of Officers (Board) of the EANS implements the decisions taken by the Open Executive Committee; if the Open Executive Committee is the "Parliament" of the EANS, the Board of Officers can be considered as its "cabinet".  The Board meets at least once a year, during the EANS Annual Meeting, and often more frequently.

Officers are elected for a term of 2 years, which runs from one Annual Meeting to the next. The future President and Chair of the Training Committee are elected by the Open Executive Committee, two years before their term begins. All other officers are elected at the meeting of the Open Executive Committee which takes place during the Annual Meeting.

In addition, much of the work of the EANS is carried out by its Committees, and the Association also employs six professional salaried members of staff, who are responsible for the day to day running of the organisation.

You can view our structure in the format of an organogram.

The official journal of the EANS is The European Journal of Neurosurgery: Acta Neurochirurgica.

The EANS is constituted in Belgium and its constitution has been filed in Gent, Belgium.